I'm new to this, please help!

Looking for Scottish Ancestors

Moderator: Global Moderators

Jones274

I'm new to this, please help!

Post by Jones274 » Wed Feb 24, 2021 11:39 pm

Im new to this site so I apologise if I've posted in the wrong place.
I have been trying to find my biological father and his side of my family for many years now with no success. However I have eventually found a copy of his birth certificate:

BROWN, Robert John. August third 1958. 1301 Govan Road, Glasgow.

Father: BROWN, Robert Stalker.

Mother: BROWN (nee MCDERMID), Isabella Evans.

With a bit of help from ancestry, who's DNA testing gave me a few 2nd/3rd/4th cousins, I have found they were married in Cathcart, Glasgow in 1957. Robert Stalker Brown was bron 1933. Isabella Evans Mcdermid was born 1937 in Port Glasgow.

I have tried to use SP site, ancestry, etc but I cant figure out how to find out if Robert and Isabella had any other children? I have vague knowledge of having a deceased aunt but other than that I'm not sure.

Also how do I then figure out if Robert or Isabella had siblings and who their parents are?

Im pretty new to this whole thing so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

AndrewP
Site Admin

Re: I'm new to this, please help!

Post by AndrewP » Thu Feb 25, 2021 2:00 am

Hi 'Jones274',

[TS_welcome]