Confused!!! Gartloch Asylum

Asylums, Poor Houses and the like.

Moderator: Global Moderators

Marilee36

Confused!!! Gartloch Asylum

Post by Marilee36 » Mon May 25, 2020 11:55 am

Hi

Newbie here, I have a copy of the Notice of Admission for Samuel Smith, 4 pages long. There is a box with about 18 questions, 1 being:

"Christian name and surname of nearest known Relative of the parties and Degree of Relationship if known and wether any member of the known to be or to have been insane.?"

Answer - Wife. Mrs Agnes Drennan or Smith
Stobhill Hospital
- " -

There is also a little pencil tick beside this question box... Can anybody help? does this mean Agnes was in Stobhill at the time of Samuels Admittance to Gartloch….

I have not been able to find a death for Samuel but do know he died before 1925 as he is on his sons marriage cert, and was still alive in 1912 when he was admitted to Gartloch…..

Any ideas, help would be gratefully appreciated no matter how small..

Many Thanks

Marilee

nelmit

Re: Confused!!! Gartloch Asylum

Post by nelmit » Thu May 28, 2020 2:32 pm

Hi Marilee,

I'm finding it difficult to find this couple together on a census record. Do you have them in 1901 and 1911?

When and where was Samuel born?

Sorry just questions at the moment.

Regards,
Annette

Marilee36

Post by Marilee36 » Fri May 29, 2020 9:58 pm

Hi Annette

Nice to hear from you.. info as follows:-

Samuel Herd Smith b 25 Sept 1849 in Cupar, Burntisland, Fifeshire, Scotland.
Agnes M/S Drennan b 27 Mar 1871 in Ireland.

Have them both on 1911 Census from Scotlands People 644/7 16/4 Pg 4 with Family.
33 Bunce Street
Nicol Nairn Smith was my Grandfather b 1902. William Drennan Smith b1900 my Uncle , sorry but the other children are step brothers and sisters.
(Although it looks as if there are more children of Agnes and Samuel re the marriage question. 16 years, 8 children born alive 2 still living....).